Articles on: Projects

Projects Overview

Projects Overview



Projects are a great way to organize tasks. Creating projects lets you monitor how much time was spent by your team on a specific project so you can easily generate reports against them so you can stay on top of project budgets.

After creating an organization, the first thing you will need to do is create projects and assign them to your team members, or yourself. Your team won’t be able to track any time unless they are assigned to a project, so this step is very important.

Roles and Permissions:


Owner/Manager/Delivery Head-> They can Create projects/Add project, View Projects, Edit Projects, Archieve Projects, Add Project Members, Remove Members in projects and View projects Members, Change Status, Delete Projects and Mark as complete.
User-> They can't Create projects/Add project, Edit Projects, Archieve Projects, Add Project Members, Remove Members in projects and View projects Members, Change Status, Delete Projects and Mark as complete. They can view only assigned Project.
Team Lead (User)->They can't Create projects/Add project, Edit Projects, Archieve Projects, Add Project Members, Remove Members in projects and View projects Members, Change Status, Delete Projects and Mark as complete. They can view only assigned Project.
Dept Head (User)->They can't Create projects/Add project, Edit Projects, Archieve Projects, Add Project Members, Remove Members in projects and View projects Members, Change Status, Delete Projects and Mark as complete. They can view only assigned Project.
Project Manager (User)->They can't Create projects/Add project, Archieve Projects and Delete Project. They can View Project, Edit Project, Add Project Member, Remove Members in Projects, View Projects Members, Change Status and Mark as complete Project.

Please refer following link for accessing Roles and Permission : https://support.workstatus.io/en/article/workstatus-roles-and-permissions-guide-zzkoo6/

Don’t worry, creating projects within Workstatus is simple. Click on a section below to learn more about what projects can do for you:

Table of Contents



View project
Creating projects
Edit project roles from the Projects section
How projects appear on the tracking client?
Change Status of Project
Archiving projects
Restoring archived projects
Mark Complete
Delete
Move a project

View Project



STEP 1

Select Projects from the main navigation menu. We can see the Headers as below :

TOTAL PROJECTS - indicates total number of projects in the organization.
YET TO START - shows count project in which work not done/ are yet to start.
IN PROGRESS - Count of projects which are in progress.
ON HOLD- Count of projects which is kept on Hold.
COMPLETED- Count of projects which are mark completed.
ARCHIVED- Count of projects have been archived.
CANCELLED- Count of projects which are cancelled/deleted.





You may also click on the Project name(4) OR 3 dots>>view Project(3) to see the detail view.



It gives an overview of the project where project Start/End date, Created by/time, Member, Client & Project id is shown. It also gives you a pictorial representation of the project status.



Project Id will be visible if allowed from settings. Please refer following link : https://support.workstatus.io/en/article/workstatus-settings-3nhdtc/?bust=1702028933892

Creating Projects



STEP 1

Select Projects from the main navigation menu.



STEP 2

Click Add new project.



STEP 3

Next, choose a name for your project and select the relevant members for different roles.

Click “Save” to finalize the project.




Note :



While creating a new organization a new project will automatically be created named as Default Project.
Default Project will be assigned to all the members who will be a part of this project by default ( even without adding it through invite member ).
Default Project will be a non editable project.
No user ( any role ) would be able to make any changes in Default Project project.
Any user ( any role ) would not be able to delete the Default Project.
User will also not be able to add any todo, milestones, todo group in this project.


Edit project roles from the Projects section



STEP 1

Select Projects from the main navigation menu



STEP 2

Click on the [ ⋮ ] button on the right side of the project you wish to edit and then click on the “Edit project” option.



STEP 3

Update roles and click “Save” to finalize the changes.




How projects appear on the tracking client?



Once your team members are assigned to projects, they will appear in their tracking clients. Projects will appear in the highlighted section of the desktop tracker, as shown below. The user can simply click on the project’s name to select it and then press the Start button to track their time.

Please note team members must be assigned as either a User or Manager to track time against projects.



Change Project Status



STEP 1

Select Projects from the main navigation menu.*

Click on the Status button on the right side of the project you wish to edit, and then select the % to mark as per your requirement.



Archiving projects



STEP 1

Select Projects from the main navigation menu.



STEP 2

Click on the [ ⋮ ] button on the right side of the project you wish to archive, and then click on the “Archive project” option.



STEP 3

A pop-up notification will appear. Select Yes to confirm you wish to archive the project.



Restoring archived projects



STEP 1

Select Projects from the main navigation menu.



STEP 2

Click on the Archived tab.



STEP 3

Click on the [ ⋮ ] button on the right side of the project you wish to restore, and then click on the “Unarchive project” option.



Mark as complete



STEP 1

Select Projects from the main navigation menu.



STEP 2

Click on the [ ⋮ ] button on the right side of the project you wish to restore, and then click on the “Mark as complete” option.





Move Project



Project can be moved between different organization in an same account

STEP 1

Select Projects from the main navigation menu.



STEP 2

Click on the [ ⋮ ] button on the right side of the project you wish to restore, and then click on the “Move Project” option.



Confirmation pop up opens mentioning if Projects are moved to different organization, todos associated with it will also move that specific organization.



Delete Project



STEP 1

Select Projects from the main navigation menu.



STEP 2

Click on the [ ⋮ ] button on the right side of the project you wish to restore, and then click on the Delete Project” option.



Click OK on confirmation pop up to proceed with deletion of project.

Updated on: 20/02/2024

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback

Cancel

Thank you!